Welcome to the Birmingham Bulls

About The Team

The Birmingham Bulls based in the vibrant city of Birmingham, are a prominent and enthusiastic participant in British American Football. Playing within Division One of the BAFA American Football System. Known for our hard hitting and dominant defence. With a rich history and commitment to the growth of American Football within the UK.

Budweiser Bowl 1988

Carling Birmingham Bulls 1980s

Summer Bowl II 1986

Bulls through the years

The Birmingham Bulls are one of the longer established American football teams playing in the United Kingdom, having been founded in 1983.

Jerry Hartman, a former US military policeman with some College Football experience formed the team in a local park, and by April 1984, there was enough interest to begin a fully fledged adult team. The team was financed by local businessman Dave Gill, who later became the Bulls’ first chairman and would go onto become chairman of the British American Football Association.

On Friday June 8 1984, the Bulls played their first game against the Milton Keynes Bucks at the Alexander Stadium, losing 40-7. They later took residence in Salford Park, underneath the Gravelly Hill Interchange, and under Dave Webb, the club attempted to purchase the land from the local council.

In 1986, as members of the BAFL, under coach Warren Tate, the Bulls won their first national championship, and represented the UK in the inaugural Eurobowl, finishing third, losing to eventual runners-up, the Bologna Doves.

In 1988, the Bulls won their second national championship, and first in the Budweiser League, beating the London Olympians at Loftus Road 30-6, and again qualifying for the Eurobowl. However, they once more lost to the eventual runners up, this time the Amsterdam Crusaders.

In 1989, the Bulls again made the Budweiser Bowl to challenge for the national championship, but lost to the Manchester Spartans 21-14.

Under the banner of the NDMA league, the Bulls took their third national championship in 1991, defeating the London Olympians 39-38 at the Alexander Stadium, with kicker Mark Webb scoring the winning field goal with just 17 seconds remaining.

In 1992, the Bulls again faced Eurobowl disappointment, falling to the eventual winners, the Amsterdam Crusaders once more.

In 1995, the Bulls won their most recent national championship, defeating the London Olympians once more, in a 34-30 game. However, the Olympians got their revenge later in the year, knocking the Bulls out of the Eurobowl at the quarter-final stage, before going onto finish as runners-up.

After a re-invention, the Bulls began life in Division 2 in 1996. The Bulls reached the national championship again in 1999, but fell to the London Olympians in a close, defence-heavy 9-6 loss. The result of the 1999 Britbowl was repeated a year later in 2000, when the London Olympians again defeated the Bulls in the national championship game, 34-26.

In 2013, the Bulls junior team finished an undefeated season by defeating the Woodham Warriors in the Junior Britbowl at Keepmoat Stadium, and were crowned national champions.

In 2014, in the second and final year of former Redditch Arrows head coach lan Hill's tenure, despite a large rookie contingent, the Bulls came within one game of making the play-offs.

2015 saw a league restructure and the Bulls found themselves placed in the Division One SFC North, with former player, Mark Pagett, taking over the reins.

After two seasons of transition, with a large number of rookies getting regular playing time due to a number of experienced players retiring or moving to new clubs, the Bulls were relegated to Division Two following a one win season in 2017.

Mark Pagett resigned from the role as Head Coach and the Bulls moved to appoint Matthew Sheldon as the new leader for a new chapter of "Bulls Football" in 2018.

Post Covid the 2021 Bulls saw a division featuring the Swindon Storm of division 1 and the Bristol Aztecs of the premiereship. Leading to a 4-2-1 season.

The 2022 season saw a return to normal division play with the Bulls facing the division title winning Leicester Falcons. Leading to a 4-6 Season.

In 2023 the Bulls continued their Division 1 campaign facing division rivals in the Caesars and Romans, They also secured a victory against the Sheffield Giants. ending the season with a victory against the Steelers to end 4-5-1.

All Time Records

Record Player Record Number
Total Points Mark Cohen 336 Points
Passing Yards Russ Jensen 5,201 passing yards
Passing TDs Russ Jensen 55 passing touchdowns
Rushing Yards Paul Duncan 2,856 rushing yards
Rushing TDs Trevor Carthy 43 rushing touchdowns
Receiving Yards Mark Cohen 3,740 receiving yards
Receiving Touchdowns Mark Cohen 51 receiving touchdowns
Most Total Tackles Colin Nash 673 tackles
Sacks Ken Lewis 72.5 Sacks
Most Fumble Recoveries Ken Lewis 19 fumble recoveries
Most Interceptions Paul Roberts 30 interceptions
Most Field Goals Mark Webb 18 field goals
Most Extra Point Kicks Mark Webb 160 extra point kicks
Most Punt Yards Andy Raffo 4,676 punt yards
Most Kick Return Yards Paul Roberts 1,368 kick return yards
Most Punt Return Yards Paul Roberts 909 punt return yards